Travel Spotlight: MEL BURGOS

Image 56
I’m very excited to feature Mel Burgos on One Checked Bag and for her to share her travel insights. I’ve been following Mel on both instagram (@rock_yo_rizos) and her blog  and was excited to learn about our shared passion for travel. I had a chance to catch up with Mel to have her share about her travels all over the world:

You just returned from a trip to Italy, what was your most memorable moment?

Wow there were so many! My most memorable moment was doing yoga during sunset surrounded by candles on the grounds of the castle where I stayed.

Screen Shot 2014-06-15 at 4.54.38 PM

Of all places you have traveled, what city is closest to your heart?

Kenya, Africa because it was my dream trip since I was a teenager. I also had the opportunity to give back and worked at an orphanage during my time there. I always refer back to the pics when I need some encouragement.

Screen Shot 2014-06-15 at 4.57.47 PM

Where is the most amazing place you have stayed?

Marfa, TX. I stayed on a campground called El Cosmico and had the opportunity to stay in a renovated vintage trailer and a Sioux-style tepee.

IMG_0290

Screen Shot 2014-06-15 at 4.56.35 PM

IMG_0626

What is the one meal you will remember most from your travels?

Sauteed stingray in Singapore in the Clarke Quay district

What is your favorite city to explore and what are some of your favorite places?

I would have to say New York! Every time I go home, I find a new restaurant and even more places to shop 🙂

Favorite Places to Eat:
Lombardi’s pizzeria (of course)
Tacombi (theee best fish tacos and spiked horchata)
Cafe Habana (everything is delish)

Favorite Places to Shop:
Oak
Zara (5th ave location)
All Saints

Last but not least, for the curly girls, what is your must pack beauty/hair item?

I ALWAYS pack my Jane Carter Nourish and Shine moisturizer. It works on dry skin and hair! To me, it is the perfect moisturizer and saves you some space in your toiletry bag

For more on Mel Burgos, follow her blog at http://www.rockyorizos.blogspot.com and on instagram @rock_yo_rizos

All photos by Mel Burgos

2 responses to “Travel Spotlight: MEL BURGOS

Share your travel experience/recommendations