Travel Spotlight: SHOOTER SHANE

tumblr_n0dw8zq8hY1trxzo9o1_1280Today’s Travel Spotlight is on the photographer behind the lens-Shooter Shane. Shane is based in Miami, one of my favorite cities and has recently inspired me to plan a trip to the Philippines after checking out photos from his latest trip. When he’s not traveling the world, you’ll find him showing us why we wish we lived in Miami and all the beautiful people and things we are missing out on. Thanks to Shane for sharing some of his favorite travel memories with us. Be sure to check out more of his travel photos on Instagram at #travelershane and @shootershane

You recently returned from a trip to the Philippines, what was the most memorable moment(s) from your trip?

This was my second time in the Philippines and I took my Dad to celebrate his 60th birthday. There’s a quote by St Augustine that goes “ The world is a book and those who don’t travel read only one page.” so it was fun for me to see him reading the other pages. The Philippines is one of my favorite places I’ve ever been and it was fulfilling to see my Dad enjoy it as much as me. The island hopping there is unsurpassed and I’d have to say those moments were what made it best.

Screen Shot 2014-08-07 at 9.46.02 PM

Screen Shot 2014-08-07 at 9.46.29 PM

Screen Shot 2014-08-07 at 9.47.13 PM

Of all the places you have traveled, what city is closest to your heart?

Tulum, from the first time I visited I fell in love. It’s getting very popular lately so I hope that doesn’t ruin its vibe. It will be hard to find another place like it. Other cities that came in a close 2nd or 3rd are Medellin, Colombia and Coron, Philippines. I think Colombia is beating the stereotype and is on the brink of being a booming tourist destination. Coron is one of those small towns that’s easy to rub elbows with the locals and really get a feel for the life there. Not to mention its a boat ride away from some of the most beautiful islands in the world.

Screen Shot 2014-08-07 at 9.48.41 PM

Where is the most amazing place you have stayed?

I love the bungalows in Tulum where the second you step out the door your feet are in the sand but every place there is like that. I’d have to say the W in Vieques Puerto Rico left the biggest impression on me. Rooms were designed amazingly, decorations on point, has 2 private beaches, a posh pool, and is relatively close to town. One of those hotels I wish I had more time to relax in.

Screen Shot 2014-08-07 at 4.14.16 AM

What is the one meal you will remember most from your travels? Which city and where?

I’m not a big foodie like others, I’m more the adventure seeker so I’ll eat whatever comes along the way. The one meal I will remember forever though is watching my Dad try Balut on a sidewalk in Manila, Philippines. Google it, it’s gross.

What is your favorite city to explore and what are some of your favorite places?

This is a tough one because I have a short tension span so there really needs to be a lot of options to keep me entertained. The busiest I ever was in one city was San Francisco. There are so many photographic places in the vicinity I think I’d have to live there for a year to get to it all. Drives down the coast, Mt Davidson, Golden Gate views, the city itself, and Point Reyes to name a few. The cool thing about San Fran is it doesn’t take a far drive to get you into the wild. If only it was less expensive to live. I can’t knock Miami though, I moved here from York, Pennsylvania and left for two years in favor of NYC but came running back. Miami is an excellent city to make your base if you want to travel the Caribbean and Central/South America.

tumblr_n215jlCwEa1trxzo9o1_1280

tumblr_n2asq6rXHt1trxzo9o1_1280

tumblr_n2v202CCgD1trxzo9o6_1280

Last but not least, what is your must pack item?

For sure my CAMERA! And sometimes it’s multiple cameras, I’m a junkie when it comes to that so the exact camera is forever changing.

Screen Shot 2014-08-07 at 10.05.01 PM

All photos by Shooter Shane http://www.shootershane.com @shootershane #travelershane

Share your travel experience/recommendations