Travel Spotlight: Sarah McLellan

Today’s Travel Spotlight is featuring Sarah McLellan, Editor-in-Chief of Infinite Legroom, the travel website founded by A-Trak, and the foodie extraordinaire behind The Aussie Who Ate the Big Apple. Sarah is passionate about food and if she’s not out trying new restaurants on the scene, then you’ll find her either writing about her dining experience or whipping up a delicious meal that makes us wish we had her culinary skills in the kitchen. Today she shares some of her favorite places with us to STAY, EAT and EXPLORE.

Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 8.54.15 PM

YOU JUST MOVED TO SAN FRANCISCO, WHAT IS THE BEST MEAL YOU HAVE HAD SINCE YOU ARRIVED?

Such a tough question! SF has incredible food and the scene here is definitely on point with NYC. There is always something new opening and plenty of local spots that people have recommended I try. So far, my favorites have been the delicious Neapolitan style pizza at Pizzeria Delphina in Pacific Heights, fresh crab and prawn salad, with a half-dozen oysters at Swan Oyster Depot, super succulent octopus with a glass of rose at Causwells in the Marina, Pho for lunch at Out The Door on Bush Street and numerous food truck treats at the SoMa StrEAT Food Park. Probably the most decadent meal I had was an 8-course Kitchen Table tasting at Parallel 37 at the Ritz Carlton. Chef Michael Rotondo and his team are incredible at pairing super fresh local ingredients, with juicy wines and A+ service. It was a night to remember!

Bp-8RMRCIAESzxs
image
Br0m6JRCEAAuayX
IMG_0686

OF ALL THE PLACES YOU HAVE TRAVELED, WHAT CITY IS CLOSEST TO YOUR HEART?

Although I have been living overseas now for 14 years, I would have to say that I always feel nostalgic about my home country of Australia. I usually visit once a year and hit Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane and my hometown of Bundaberg. There’s nothing like being at home with family and lifelong friends and getting to visit all my favorite restaurants and beaches.

image

Having said that, I also lived the majority of my time away in New York City, so I feel very attached to NYC as a home base too. No matter where I have been able to travel to over the years, (18 countries and counting) it was always nice to fly in and see that stunning New York skyline. I still get chills even now!

Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 8.59.16 PM

WHERE IS THE MOST AMAZING PLACE YOU HAVE STAYED?

In 2012 I was in Thailand for my best friends wedding, and a large group of us rented a villa on the top of a mountain in Patong. It slept 14, had a massive infinity pool, a driver, chef, maid and massive open living areas to entertain. Along with the trip itself being so special because we were celebrating my friends marriage, the Villa Yoo Sook really elevated things to another level!

IMG_5033

Housing wise, staying with friends all over the world is amazing fun too. My boyfriend Kit and I often stay with a good friend in Sydney and his house is decorated so well, it’s sort of like a perfect mash of modern New York, with a twist of beach Australia in there too. We also head down to Bald Head Island, North Carolina often and stay at the incredible Morning Light house on the island.

image

WHAT IS THE ONE MEAL YOU WILL REMEMBER MOST FROM YOUR TRAVELS? WHICH CITY AND WHERE?

That’s so hard! As you probably know if you follow my social media, I am a sucker for good food. That pretty much runs my life. Food, travel. Where to travel to get food. You get the drill. I’d say one of the most memorable meals I have had while traveling was while I was on tour in Japan with Lez Zeppelin back in 2008. We had been on this crazy press tour for our album and had been doing interviews back to back all day and then went to a dinner that night. We thought our record company would take us someone traditional – like sushi or something very ‘Tokyo’ you know? Instead we ended up eating Tapas and drinking way too much sake and beer at a karaoke bar until the wee hours. We then walked the back alleys of Shibuya and found some incredible ramen at this hole in the wall spot. As if that wasn’t amazing enough, we stayed up and made our way to the Tsukiji fish market and proceeded to eat the most incredible fresh sushi and sashimi straight from the ocean at 5am. It was pretty epic. After that, we headed back to the hotel (still dressed from the morning’s interviews) changed and then flew back to JFK!

image

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE CITY TO EXPLORE AND WHAT ARE SOME OF YOUR FAVORITE PLACES?

I love traveling through South East Asia. I love the time I have spent in Thailand and would love to go back and explore more of the street food and markets in other cities beyond Bangkok and Phuket. I’d also love to get to Hong Kong sometime soon. It’s my mission to find the best Xiao Long Bao there!

tumblr_lqxanxRXl51qdg1of
tumblr_lqxdg0MDyX1qdg1of

I know it’s cliché but I really still love exploring NYC. I had the best time right before I moved to San Francisco, rediscovering old favorites. Finally, after 14 years living in the city, I walked across the Brooklyn Bridge!

Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 8.46.56 PM

My favorite spots to go in NYC are (in now particular order) Fonda on Avenue B, L’Apicio, Flinders Lane, Zabb Elee, Yunnan Kitchen, Boulton & Watt, Shake Shack, Momofuku Noodle Bar, Smorgasburg, Condessa, Bluebird Coffee, Mission Cantina to go Burrito. Walking the high line and along the Hudson River, walking all around NYC in general. Chinatown + my buddy Wilson’s spot Nom Wah Tea Parlor for dim sum. Cocktails at Amor y Amargo and oyster happy hour at The Mermaid Inn.

Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 8.45.28 PM

LAST BUT NOT LEAST, WHAT IS YOUR MUST PACK ITEM?

I haven’t packed a checked bag in over 6 years now and I have managed to travel up to a month at a time, with weddings and events included. I just love being able to hit the road as soon as I step off the plane and get through immigration, it makes things so much more simple. In terms of what I pack, I love a good edit and being able to mix and match items. I usually pack everything in a LV duffel and manage to throw in jeans, good tees, a light coat or leather jacket (depending on the climate), accessories, something dressy and some flats, boots and heels. I always have my laptop and my iPhone, which ultimately is an extension of my wrist.

IMG_0363

All photos by Sarah McLellan, http://theaussiewhoatethebigapple.com
Instagram: @sarahmclellanny

Share your travel experience/recommendations