Why the name One Checked Bag?

Why the name One Checked Bag?

First confession, I originally wanted to name the blog “Where’s Maldo?” after the only nickname I have ever gone by, but there appeared to be a group of people against a certain politician who had already parked the domain. (For the record, there is no relation to referenced politician.) On to plan B…

So then I started brainstorming and at the time when I was inspired to start documenting my travels, we had just returned from a trip to France and Monaco with friends and prior to that trip I was doing a lot of overseas travel both for work and personal. I always try to pack light and pride myself on being able to fit everything regardless of the climate or the length of the trip into 1 small carry-on sized bag. I’ve found that it is the easiest for navigating through busy cities and on public transportation in addition to the fact that anything larger tends to lead to overpacking.

Now I realize there are carry-on die hards out there and when traveling domestically, I occasionally will follow suit. HOWEVER, after years of travel and being that person who would only do carry-on, I came to a point where I realized…

I’m either headed on or returning from vacation and I do not want the agida of dragging a suitcase or bag through the airport, having to pull my toiletries out for security, pushing to be first to board to avoid fighting for a spot in the overhead, and upon arrival, pulling it through the winding immigration line. You’ve paid the money for the ticket, let the airline do the heavy work, After all, if traveling abroad, there is rarely an additional fee for your onecheckedbag.

Share your travel experience/recommendations